FASHION LIFESTYLE

10 BOOKS TO READ IF YOU LOVE FASHION

March 16, 2021
Fashion Books

How do you make it in fashion? What is it like to work at Vogue? What is the next big runway trend? The fashion industry is as glamorous as it is illusive, so if you’re looking to lavish your bookshelf with new stories and inspiration, memoirs by fashion moguls and coffee table books by industry icons are sure to delight. Keep reading for 10 books to read if you love fashion.

Clothes and Other Things That Matter 

by Alexandra Shulman

Clothes and other Things That Matter

Alexandra Shulman is a former Editor-in-Chief of British Vogue, and is also the longest serving Editor in the history of the publication. In her book, Clothes and Other Things That Matter, Alexandra Shulman writes about fashion history, social commentary and iconic style icons through the lens of a memoir.

 

The Vanity Fair Diaries

by Tina Brown

The Vanity Fair Diaries

If you’re looking for a memoir filled with lavish society stories The Vanity Fair Diaries is a must-read. Between 1979 and 1998, Tina Brown was Editor-In-Chief of Tatler, Vanity Fair, The New Yorker. Glimpses of the fashion industry are seen through Tina’s experience working in New York City at the same time Anna Wintour joined Vogue. This glittering book on the gilded age of media and publishing in New York City will no doubt have you hooked.

 

The Chiffon Trenches

by Andre Leon Talley

The Chiffon Trenches

Andre Leon Talley speaks honestly and candidly about his career in fashion from New York City to Paris in his memoir, The Chiffon Trenches. The fashion mogul shares stories from his close friendships with Karl Lagerfeld and Anna Wintour. Not one to shy away from the cut throat nature of the fashion industry, Andre Leon Talley’s memoir is a window into fashion’s last fifty years. If you love this memoir, watch Andre Leon Talley’s documentary, The Gospel According to Andrey as a follow up.

 

Own It: The Secret to Life

by Diane von Furstenberg

Own It The Secret To Life

“The secret of life,” Diane von Furstenberg says, is to “Own our imperfections. Own our vulnerability; it becomes our strength. Whatever the challenge is, own it. Owning it is the first step to everything.” In her latest book, Own It: The Secret To Life, the iconic designer shares advice on how to be successful.

 

The New Black Vanguard: Photography between Art and Fashion

by Antwaun Sargent

The New Black Vanguard

Antwaun Sargent is a writer, editor and curator living in New York City. His stunning book, The New Black Vanguard is a photo essay discussing how Black culture intervenes with art, fashion and culture. Featuring the work of Black photographers such as Tyler Mitchell, Arielle Bobb-Willis and Jamal Nxedlana, the book was originally published alongside a photography exhibition curated by Sargent at Aperture Gallery in New York City.

 

Grace: A Memoir

by Grace Coddington

With her brilliant bright hair and zany love for cats, Grace Coddington is an unmistakable fashion icon. As Creative Director of Vogue magazine, Grace Coddington has an incredibly rich perspective on creative industries from New York City and London. Grace: A Memoir tells the story of Grace’s life including her twenty year career at Vogue. If you are excited about this book you’ve probably seen The September Issue, but if you haven’t (and even if you have) it is a must watch documentary on Vogue magazine.

 

Love Style Life

by Garance Dore

The quintessential French fashion icon, Garance Dore’s beautiful book, Love Style Life, includes illustrations, photography and wisdom. Witty and insightful, this guide on French taste is the perfect coffee table book. For more style advice, be sure to visit Garance Dore’s blog We Are Dore.

 

Iris Apfel: Accidental Icon

by Iris Apfel

Iris Apfel

Iris Apfel is a design icon who embraces texture, colour, boldness and uniqueness. In her book, Iris Apfel: Accidental Icon the beloved New Yorker shares anecdotes and fashion advice. When it comes to pushing boundaries, Iris Apfel know no bounds. From cofounding a textile company with her husband called Old World Weavers, to having her clothing exhibited at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, her life story is intriguing and inspiring. A fantastic book for anyone who identifies as a true original. If you like this book, watch Iris Apfel’s documentary, Iris.

 

Leave Your Mark

by Aliza Licht

Leave Your Mark

If breaking into the world of fashion public relations, social media or journalism is your goal, Leave Your Mark by Aliza Licht is a great read. The author worked as Donna Karan International’s SVP of Global Communications and has since gone on to build a successful marketing agency in New York City. Filled with interview tips and advice on how to get ahead in your creative career, this isn’t a book of things you should do, it’s a book of things you must do. If you can’t enough of Aliza, be sure to check out Leave Your Mark podcast after you’re finished reading.

 

Capture Your Style

by Aimee Song

Capture Your Style

Fashion is alive in the pages of magazines and the set of a photoshoot, but it’s also alive on Instagram! Famous blogger Aimee Song of Song of Style breaks down her style tips in her book, Capture Your Style. Don’t even think about posting another #ootd on Instagram without brushing up on Aimee’s tips. How to edit photos, how to style for social media and how to take a blog from hobby to business are all included in this super pretty fashion book.

 

What books do you recommend for fashion lovers? Leave a comment below to share!

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.